Mean Red Spiders Still Life Fast Moving

Format: CD
Label: Clairecords
Price: $10.50
add to cart.

Clairecords Description: "Still Life Fast Moving" is Mean Red Spiders' most engaging and mature work to date. With a new clarity of arrangement, these songs are imbued with a melancholic, 'baroque'-pop sensibility - accordians, glockenspiels and moogs soar and wash over sig-nature guitars, melodic bass and expressive percussion. The group's sound has evolved into a unique distillation of their diverse and ranging influences; The Velvet Underground, Beach Boys, 13th Floor Elevators, Love, Can, Brian Eno, Sonic Youth, Spacemen 3 and Stereolab are all found converging upon the moment. Toronto's Mean Red Spiders have been performing spacious, psychedelic, avant-pop since 1995. Founding guitarists Greg Chambers and David Humphreys were joined soon after by bassist/singer Lisa Nighswander. 1996 saw the addition of (122 Greige) drummer Adam Rosen and in 1997 Minesh Mandoda (Parts Unknown) rounded out the band's Spectorian 'wall-of-noise' adding an ever-morphing array of effects, samples and multi-instrumentation. In 1998 their first full-length release, 'Places You Call Home' garnered praise from local and international press, perpetuating a strong following across North America. The follow-up, 2000's 'Starsandsons' cemented their reputation, charting in CMJ's Core Top 50 and sending them on their first tour of the eastern United States. A feature in Alternative Press magazine followed and the song 'Compromise' was featured on Fox TV's hit series "24". Veterans of Toronto's "indie" scene, the group has opened for several international headliners, amongst them Super Furry Animals, Bardo Pond, Mojave 3 & Brian Jonestown Massacre. Mean Red Spiders have played numerous shows across Eastern Canada and the northeast US over the past five years. They embarked upon their first tour of western Canada in Spring 2001, returning to begin work on their third record. Forever changing, recording commenced to find original member David Humphreys leaving the band. Guitar duties were assumed by Rob Boak (Interstellar).

Track listing:
1. "First And Only"
2. "Advance To Illinois"
3. "Beaconsfield"
4. "Chinese Wall Declaration"
5. "Turn Walk Away"
6. "The New Nostalgia"
7. "My Soul To Keep"
8. "They Only Met Once"
9. "Awkward Over Coffee"
10. "First And Only (reprise)"

return to quick index
visit twee kitten web store.