Would-Be-Goods - Morning After Would-Be-Goods Morning After

Format: CD
Label: Matinee
Price: $10.40
add to cart.

Matinee Description: The Would-Be-Goods are back, their eccentric and evocative guitar pop honed by two years of live performance. Jessica Griffin, enigmatic star of eighties cult label él, is still at the helm, with her crew of elegant rascals - Peter Momtchiloff, guitarist (Talulah Gosh, Razorcuts, Heavenly, Scarlet’s Well) and occasional songsmith; Debbie Green, drummer and darling of the London nineties garage scene (Headcoatees); and Lupe Nuñez-Fernandez, bass player and co-founder of cosmopolitan East London quietists Pipas. These twelve songs demonstrate that the Would-Be-Goods have lost none of their melancholy charm or wit but have moved beyond the ornate eclecticism of their acclaimed third album 'Brief Lives' (2002) to a classic guitar pop sound ranging from new folk ('Bluebeard') through tango (the poignantly funny 'Too Old') to garage rock ('Miss La-di-dah'). Love songs to lions, frolics in the Garden of Eden, French casanovas and personal demons await you. Let the Would-Be-Goods be your guides.

Track listing:
1. "Pantomine Devil"
2. "The Morning After"
3. "Bluebeard"
4. "Big Cat Act"
5. "Le Crocodile"
6. "Too Old"
7. "What Adam And Eve Did Next"
8. "I Broke The Spell"
9. "The King Of Lace"
10. "Miss La-Di-Dah"
11. "Innocent Abroad"
12. "Dear St. Valentine"

return to quick index
visit twee kitten web store.